Buy Design, Amsterdam: Pearls from Makkum

If you remember, when I visited  Orson+Bodil Amterdam,  I had bad luck to buy a hat. And than I decided to go for pearls.

I got a pearl from Makkum, designer Alexander van Slobbe, made by  Koninklijke Tichelaar Makkum.

IMG_7502IMG_7504

Royal Tichelaar Makkum is the Netherlands’ oldest company, but they collaborate with the greatest modern designers and architects of nowadays Netherlands.

The list is here 

We can read on the webside, that ” The ‘pearls’ can be bought as complete necklace or one by one, to enable the wearer to compose her own ‘pearl’ rope. These ‘Pearls of Makkum’ have become desirable alternatives to the traditional pearl chain. The ‘pearls’ beauty is even enhanced by their luxury presentation box, designed by Irma Boom, who is responsible for all graphic expressions of our company.”

I bought a dark brown one: Onix.

And I told  Alexander that everey time I come back to Amsterdams, I’ll buy one  pearl more. One day I’ll own my own pearl necklace.IMG_7498

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

